Jason S. Miyares
Attorney General of Virginia

Lemon Law

Virginia has a "Lemon Law." It is called the Virginia Motor Vehicle Warranty Enforcement Act.
Read Virginia's "Lemon Law”

This law establishes a "lemon law” rights period ending 18 months after the date of the vehicle's original delivery to the consumer. The provisions of Virginia's "Lemon Law” are enforceable by private action brought by the consumer, not by a governmental agency.

Under certain conditions, the "Lemon Law” may apply to used vehicles. The Virginia Supreme Court case that dealt with application of the "Lemon Law” to a used vehicle is Subaru of America, Inc. v. Peters, 256 Va. 43, 500 S.E.2d 803 (1998)

Where to File a Complaint

[accordion width="100%"]

[item title="BBB Auto Line®"]

BBB National Programs administers the BBB Auto Line® Program. You may wish to contact the BBB Auto Line® if you would like to utilize your potential "lemon law” claim. BBB Auto Line® utilizes a dispute resolution process to settle automotive warranty disputes against most vehicle manufacturers as an alternative to court.

List of Manufacturers Who Participate in the BBB Auto Line® Program:  
Participating Auto Manufacturers

Read How the BBB Auto Line® Program Works

Getting started using the BBB Auto Line®


[item title="Office of the Attorney General of Virginia"]

Some manufacturers do not participate in the BBB Auto Line® Program in certain states. Our office handles "lemon law” complaints against several vehicle manufacturers that do not participate in the BBB Program. Once you determine that the manufacturer of your vehicle DOES NOT participate in the BBB Auto Line® Program, you may file a complaint with our office.

File a Complaint with the Office of the Attorney General


[item title="Virginia State Bar Lawyer Referral Service"]

If you need legal advice about how the Lemon Law applies to your situation, you may contact the Virginia State Bar's Lawyer Referral Service (VLRS) to obtain the name of a private attorney who practices in this area of the law. If you are referred to an attorney through this service, you may consult with him or her for up to thirty (30) minutes for a prepaid consultation fee of $35.

VLRS Contact Information:
Toll Free: Statewide and Nationwide: (800) 552-7977
Richmond Area: (804) 775-0808




For further assistance call our Consumer Protection Hotline at 1-800-552-9963 if calling from Virginia, or (804) 786-2042 if calling from the Richmond area or from outside Virginia. Our business hours are 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.